So I want to start doing inversion… like headstands and handstands… but I do home-practice and don’t go to a studio.

I just really don’t know where to begin. I can do crow and side crow, but I have never been able to do a handstand.

So how would one go about teaching themselves inversions? Like certain techniques or exercise I should focus on to teach myself how to do unassisted armbalances? Any precautions?

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “So I want to start doing inversion… like headstands and handstands… but I do home-practice and don’t go to a studio.”

  1. crich55 says :

    If you can do crow, you might want to start with tri-pod headstand. Work into crow, keeping one foot (toe, really) on the ground. So you should have your weight positioned as it would be for crow, but do not lift your second foot. From there, put your head on the ground and start to work on straightening your spine so you’re in a tri-pod (with your knees still on your arm shelf). Finally, use your core to draw your legs, still bent, together at your chest and then into the air. There are lots of layers here but you have to start somewhere 🙂

Leave a Reply

