jasonsbites:

Ginger and Soy Marinated Steak on Green Tea Soba

Hey guys, 1.5 hours before my midterm so OBVIOUSLY I’m gonna need to procrastinate and post up my recipe now!

After seeing my friend get her green tea soba, I knew I had to try it and this was SO good.

It was like, taking something japanese and throwing a bit of Canadian Jason pizazz in there 😀 

With a parsley ginger “dressing” to coat the noodles and mushrooms, it was to DIE for. Even my mother who is a typical “I do not show emotion” kinda asian mom said it was rather fantastic!

Ingredients (for 1 serving, just multiply!):

– 1 portion of a steak (I used sirloin)

– 1 cup of parsley, finely chopped

– 1.5 cups mushrooms, I used these organic random ones I found

– 1 portion of dried soba noodles

– 2 tablespoons soy sauce

– 1 tablespoon honey

– juice of one lime

– small piece of ginger (about 1.5” long)

– 2 cloves of garlic

– olive oil

– few tablespoons sherry, or stock for deglazing

– some pea shoots

Directions:

So for the steak:

– get a nice disposable plastic bag

– put 2 tablespoons soy, some oil, 1 tablespoon honey, mince the garlic and ginger in, and squeeze the lime juice in

– shake shake shake

– smack smack smack

– let marinade in fridge for as long as possible

For the mushrooms and sauce:

– use a bit of olive oil and throw in the mushrooms at HIGH heat, you don’t want them to steam 

– once browned, throw about 1 cup of parsley in, salt and pepper, and toss toss toss until the parsley is slightly wilted and put everything on the plate

– deglaze the pan with some sherry (or just stock) and about a teaspoon of honey

– stir on the LOWEST heat possible and add in the rest of the parsley and keep going until everything’s nice and rich looking

and of course… serve and eat!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment